Corporate Profile

Musina Makhado Special Economic Zone (MMSEZ) in the Vhembe District in Limpopo was designated by the South African Government as the preferred site for the location the SEZ. The South African Government through the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) has designated the Musina-Makhado Special Economic Zone (MMSEZ) located in the Limpopo Province, Vhembe District and straddling between the two local municipalities of Musina and Makhado. In line with the Special Economic Zone Act, 2014 the Minister for the Department of Trade and Industry has issued an Operator Permit to facilitate investment. The MMSEZ is located closer to Beitbridge Border Gate, which is the second biggest port of entry in South Africa and a gateway to other SADC countries.

The Musina-Makhado Special Economic Zone comprises two sites, one focusing primarily on Energy and Metallurgy and the other on three sectors, i.e. general manufacturing, agro-processing and logistics.

The Vhembe district in the Limpopo Province is endowed with mineral resources such a diamond. Coking coal with potential for beneficiation. This Special Economic Zone (SEZ) is intended to accelerate economic growth, development and job creation in Limpopo through:

• Promoting Industrialisation
• Facilitating increased trade and investment
• Supporting the development if sustainable enterprises
• Ensuring Infrastructure Development

Key Focus Strategy

A leading investment destination to grow an inclusive and competitive economy.



Promoting industrialization through beneficiation;
Supporting enterprise development and job creation;
Facilitation and promotion of investment; and
Providing value adding commercial business solutions.




Government Oversight

Phophi Ramathuba

Limpopo Premier
Phophi Ramathuba

Tshitereke Baldwin Matibe

MEC Limpopo Department of Economic Development Environment and Tourism

Board Members

Board Chairperson
Dr. M Lekota

Deputy Board Chairperson
Mr. M Ralebipi

Chief Executive Officer
Mr. MLA Masoga

Chief Financial Officer

Ms. S Ramusi

Interim Company Secretary
Ms. C. Mokoma


Non-Executive Director –  Chairperson: HR & Remunerations Committee
Mr. MJ Morotoba

Non-Executive Director – Chairperson: Social and Ethics Committee (BSEC)
Prof. R Howard

Non-Executive Director
Mr. TP Sebola

Non-Executive Director – Chairman: Technical and Infrastructure Committee (TIC)
Mr. B Shibambu

Non-Executive Director
Mr. S Zikode

Stakeholder Representatives

Shareholder Representative
Mrs. M Talane

Community Representative
(Mulambwane CPA)
Mr. M. Maguga

MCPA Representative

Vhembe District Municipality

Makhado Local Municipality

Musina Local Municipality

MMSEZ SOC Organizational Structure





Power Generation

  • Solar Panels
  • Wind Turbines
  • Hydro Fuel Cells


  • Steel Plant / Stainless Steel Plant
  • Coking Plant
  • Pig Iron Plant
  • Ferro Manganese Plant
  • Ferro Chrome Plant
  • Chrome Plating
  • Lime Plant
  • Chrome Plating
  • Lime Plant
  • Chemical Plant


General Manufacturing

  • Light Industries
  • Component Manufacturing
  • Agro-chemicals
  • Basic Assembly or Electro-mechanical Operations
  • OE Manufacturing Plants
  • Fertilisers

Agro Processing

  • Food Processing Facility
  • Fresh Produce Handling
  • Canning Facility


  • Logistics Services
  • Warehousing
  • Distribution
  • Container Yard
  • Vehicle Distribution
  • Cold Storage
  • Bonded Warehouses